What Did You Call Me?

Bozeman-20140404-00179I have been working at my part-time job for over a year and a half now. My position of Customer Service had been given to me because I am positive and easy to work with (directly from the mouth of my boss). Having this position means having more responsibility and most of the time dealing with not so happy customers more often then everyone else. Until recently I have had very few people who weren’t happy with how we run things but apparently, this last weekend, I took it too far.

Now, I do have to say I wasn’t in the best mood but, even then, I put a smile on my face and leave whatever bad was happening at home. When a customer comes in the store we usually have a greeter welcoming and answering any questions about the store. When this couple walked in our greeter was busy discussing a problem with another employee and missed the greeting towards them. Now it isn’t then end of the world if this happens but I could tell right away that they weren’t too happy. So I hurriedly greeted them and they ended up coming my way. They had a few returns and even exchanges that they had to do so I did the return and then pointed in the direction they would have to go to look for the even exchanges.

The entire time they hardly said a word to me and glared. But I just figured they had a bad day or weren’t much into talking as I went through the regular process. After sending them off, it was time for my break. I went into the break room and was enjoying some laughs with fellow co-workers when my boss walked in holding the outfits the customers were going to exchange.

“Do you remember these people,” she asked holding out the clothes to me.

“Yeah I just helped them with a return and they wanted to do an even exchange with those. Why?” I could see she had a concerned look on her face.

“They just told me that you were really rude to them,” She replied back.

“Oh,” I was all I could say. This had never happened to me before at any of the jobs I have ever worked.

“Don’t worry, I don’t believe them, ” She reassured. “But I thought you should know in case you were having a bad day or something. I know you are the most positive person we have here.” (I had won the most positive award at our staff party the year before)

“Thanks,” I said as she left the room. I sat back down and started laughing.

“Are you okay?” One of my co-workers asked.

“I’m fine and I think that is the funniest thing I have ever heard…. being called rude.” I kept laughing until I had to go back to work. Now being called rude might bother some people but it didn’t bother me. This is because I know it isn’t true and I won’t let someone who doesn’t know me ruin my day when their’s was bad.

A few years ago, I might have though differently and let it eat away until the point of stressing me out but not anymore. Working with customers has really helped me develop into someone I like. I am more confident than before. I used to be shy in that I wouldn’t start a conversation with someone unless they spoke to me and now I can talk to anyone about the littlest things. I can actually stand in front of a classroom and do a two hour presentation without fear (yes two hours is correct…. it went by fast though). I don’t take anyone’s crap and will put them in their place if need be. To me, these are so awesome qualities that I have earned and being called rude won’t ruin that for me.

I know sometimes people can be rubbed the wrong way, which is what I think happened in this case, but sometimes people can be plain mean. We have to remember not to let these things get to us because at the end of the day you are an awesome person!

Let Me Know What You Think!

