You’re That Type of Person: A List Of Customers You Meet While Working Retail

Lil-at-the-cash-registerI have been working retail for about a year and a half now. I love my job and the people I work with. In working there, I have learned a lot of things such as the customer isn’t always right, customers are rude no matter how nice to them you are, and that people think it’s okay to throw merchandise everywhere. I’ve learned/seen many good things as well but sometimes the negative sticks out more than the positive.

Anyways, here’s a list of customers you might come across while working at a retail store.

1. Couponer– They only shop if they have a coupon and if they don’t they ask for one. For the hundredth time I don’t have a coupon for you!

2. Save Every Penny– At the register they are making sure ever item rings up correctly. If it’s off by one penny they make an employee go check the price… twice, because they don’t believe them the first time.

3. Dedicated Customers– They’re in the store two to three times a week, know everyone by name, and don’t blink an eye when things aren’t running smoothly. Because of you, I get a paycheck and enjoy my job while you are there. So thank you for making my life easier.

4. Have You Seen My Children?– These are parents that let their children run around everywhere and don’t take into consideration other customers around them. Of course they give the kids everything they ask for while shopping even though they were just destroying the displays not even two seconds ago. But they wouldn’t know that would they? It’s called discipline people!

5. Three Hours Later– People who spend a copious amount of time in the store at once to only buy one item. What were you doing that entire time?

6. Can You Help Me?– Now there isn’t anything wrong with asking for help but when it’s every two seconds it gets annoying. We have other customers to deal with other than you. Sorry, I don’t know if your aunt is going to like that shirt. I don’t know if those pants will fit you… maybe you should try them on.

7. I Got Away With It- We can see you! You can’t get away with stealing from us. We have over one hundred cameras and can hear you whispering in the fitting rooms about stealing. Nice try though.

8. Change Anyone?– Have you ever seen someone pay for $22.36 worth of items all in change….. because I have! That’s always fun to try and count out.

9. The Cellphone User– They talk on their phone the entire time you are checking them out. Um, you’re welcome. My day is going fine too.

10. The Talker– These customers won’t go away even when you tell them that you have to help someone else. By the time they leave you have heard their entire life story…twice. I have a job to do and can’t hear about how you went to a three year old’s birthday today.

11. Silence Is A Virtue– They have absolutely nothing to say to you… not even a hello. The silence makes for an awkward checkout especially when they won’t stop staring at you.

12. Clearancer– The people somehow manage to fill three carts full of clearance clothes and still only have to pay $50. I once took part in a lady saving $3,442 while only spending $146. It was pretty amazing.

13. The Returner– These customers bring back everything they had purchased. Then they get mad when I can’t give them as much money back because they lost their receipt. It isn’t my fault you didn’t keep it in a safe place.

14. Where’s The Bathroom?– I have at least 5 to 10 people ask me this during a shift. You see that big sign that says Restroom? Follow that.

15. Purse Digger– They dig in their massive purses trying to find their credit cards. Why didn’t you get that out while you were in line instead of pouring your contents on the register and making people wait longer? Excuse me while I read this entire book while you look for that.

16. Line Cutter– These people think it’s okay to pass the people who have been waiting in line because they only have one small question. I will get to you once I have helped these people who have been patiently waiting because the world doesn’t revolve around you.

These are just some of the major customers I run into while at work. Sorry if some of these sounded like I was complaining because I really do like working retail. There are some really nice customers out there that are understanding as well as entertaining. But most people fall into one if not more of the categories whether they like to hear it or not.

 

Let Me Know What You Think!

